Eddie Murphy to Host The Oscars, Terrible Choice

After Anne Hathaway and James Franco bombed at 83rd Academy Awards, I, like many others chastised them for their poor performance, and had suggestions of my own for the next year’s host.

My first choice would have been Tom Hanks, a sneaky yet very funny actor, Hanks would slay the audience, I’m 100% sure of it.

Yet today, we learned that Eddie Murphy will host the 84th edition of the golden statue awards.

WHO!?!

Obviously everyone knows who Murphy is, but he isn’t relevant anywhere in Hollywood.

Now he’s best known for being a cartoon Donkey, and his last movie that made is seemingly noticeable was Norbit which came out over four years ago.

What was the thought process behind this? How far down the proposed host list was Murphy?

This comes out of left field, and I can’t see it being the best option, nor do I think it’ll go over well.

Now, I think it’ll be better than the neurotic, possibly marijuana induced spectacle that Hathaway and Franco put on this year, but frankly that isn’t a high bar to reach.

Which Murphy will we see?

The Coming to America Murphy?

Or, will we see the stupid, brain-dead, trying way too hard Murphy, that was thrown in our face in movies like Norbit, The Nutty Professor, The Adventures of Pluto Nash, Daddy Day Care,and Bowfinger?

“With his love of movies, history of crafting unforgettable characters and his iconic performances – especially on stage – I know he will bring excitement, spontaneity and tremendous heart to the show Don and I want to produce in February,” said Brett Ratner.

Don Mischer adds, “Eddie is a truly ground-breaking performer, whose amazingly diverse array of roles has won him a devoted audience of all ages. His quick wit and charisma will serve him very well as Oscar host.”

Murphy states, “I am enormously honored to join the great list of past Academy Award hosts from Hope and Carson to Crystal, Martin and Goldberg, among others.”

Word is Billy Crystal will be involved in someway as well.

The 84th Academy Awards show taking place on February 26, 2012.

 

7 Comments

  1. Apparently you are ignorant to the huge American icon of comedians!!!
    Why must you think he will be a bore?
    My thoughts are you are do not know of all the works of Eddie Murphy!! Before you insult him, educate you ediotic mind!!
    But wait maybe you don’t like him because of his skin color!! I think that is your issue.. ..
    It’s so sad to just wonder how you don’t look past the color of ones skin!!!!!!

    • I am no ignorant to the “huge American icon of comedians” please stop this nonsense.

      Why do I think he will be boring? Because is career has been dead and buried for 10 years now. No one CARES about Eddie Murphy anymore, he isn’t someone people will go out of their way to see anymore. Long gone are the days of Coming to America, Beverly Hills Cop, even Dr. Dolittle.

      At what point in reading my write up did it hit you that I may be a racist? What possibly could have given you that inclination?

      Or are you simply just looking to start controversy?

      Who cares if the host/anyone is black, white, blue or orange. My point is he isn’t relevant to Hollywood anymore, and this latest brand of “satire comedy” has been so piss poor awful that the chances that he leaves the audience in stitches like a Billy Crystal or Johnny Carson. (OH MY GOD…THEY ARE BOTH WHITE…YOU GOT ME I’M A RACIST”)

      Chris Rock was great too in 2005, oh I shouldn’t have said that, he’s black, and I’m clearly a racist.

      Please, don’t start the racism talk, you clearly missed the point of my post.

      • the bloke will always be relevant. it doesnt matter if he hasnt made adult friendly movies in over a decade. dreamgirls was a brilliant performance and he was robbed of an oscar and that was only a couple of years ago.

  2. How dare you defame Daddy Day Care.

    • So Sorry.

  3. One of the greatest stand up comedians of all time. deserves to be on the stage that once had billy crystal, steve martin, whoopi goldberg etc.
    Just might be the best Academy Awards in over a decade.

    • Pete, I understand your point, and yes he is one of the big names in the history of comedy, but the fact is he isn’t relevant. It just seems like a very odd choice. Listen I hope he kills it and has everyone in stiches, but I just don’t have high hopes.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment